Time for Tea? Maybe.

I’m not sure about the rest of you out there, but I adore coffee. You can find me drinking a cup (at least) most days of the week. Sometimes (usually work days) I will drink two. But, it’s not really the coffee that I love to drink, but rather the stuff I get after adding about a tablespoon of sugar and a quarter cup of milk. This is bad (especially the sugar part) for me, I know this. But, through the years, I’ve acquired a slight dependency. If I go too long (more than a day) without the wonderful java, I am nursing a migraine that lasts ridiculously long. As I write this, I am sipping down a venti caramel macchiato. Don’t worry, it’s low-fat (Starbucks does low-fat, not fat-free, but a lot of chains here in Seoul don’t even offer that option!).

Insadong Starbucks

But, I also realize that I need to make a change, and tea, in all is antioxidant richness, will be that change.

Plus, hello, I am in ASIA, the land of tea! I should adapt, if not here, then it’s NEVER going to happen. I don’t want to give up coffee completely, it’s good for my mornings and I just bought a coffee maker that I love. But, I think a little insertion of tea will do me a world of good. While reading though iVillage’s list of top ten health benefits of tea, I decided to really test my will power. Because, I don’t actually like tea. And I can tell you that it has to do with the fact that my grandmother made great sun tea, and since she’s passed (in 1989) I haven’t wanted tea; but that’s probably crap. She put a TON of sugar in our tea and THAT’S probably the reason I loved it so much… it tasted like kool-aid. And kids love kool-aid.

One of my New Year’s resolutions was to get healthier. I think this is a good way of going about that.

This week, too, I am giving up bread (sad) for passover. I probably eat way too much bread as it is… but it’s SO good! Damn you Paris Baguette!

Leave a Reply

