A Post a Week?

So, WordPress has issued a challenge, and I am going to take on this challenge!

Mainly, what my blogs will be about, what they will continue to be about, is my experiences living abroad in Seoul, S. Korea until I move home. It’s January 2, 2011 in Seoul, and I think it’s a great day to begin anew.

Yesterday, the 1st, I sent Jason for sweet potatoes and apples so I could finally make the two recipes I had been anxious to try for several weeks.

Last year (gotta get used to that all over), Chanukah was at the beginning of the month. Traditionally, I would make latkes with my mom or my aunt and cousins. But, for obvious (I’m in SK) reasons, that wasn’t possible this year (or last year in fact, but this year was oddly different and we both felt the distance much more this year, than last).

So, emerging kitchen goddess that I am, I looked around for some recipes. My two big sources (aside from my mother) are AllRecipes and JoyOfBaking which are UCC recipe sites and have just about everything you could ask for when it comes to cooking anything from soup to dessert. My advice, however, is that you read the reviews and compare like recipes. We’ve had some issues with baking powder recently, so BE CAREFUL!

Because we CAN actually find all of the ingredients for the two recipes here, in SK, I was stoked to try them out. I sent Jason out for the sweet potatoes and apples, and he did not disappoint. One thing I would like to note, however, is that SK isn’t big on pumpkin spice, so I did have to make that from scratch with ingredients on hand (see below).

So, the latkes, YUM, and you can’t have latkas without the requisite applesauce and sour cream (we substituted plain yogurt and it was just as good). I didn’t take pictures, but I will be sure to start including them in subsequent posts.

Lastly, I did use the applesauce in my tried and true pancake recipe this morning, and that was REALLY amazing (see below).

Pumpkin Spice

(makes about 1/4 – 1/2 CUP)
4 TBSP ground cinnamon
4 TBSP ground ginger
4 TBSP ground nutmeg
3 TSP all spice (or 1.5 TSP both ground cinnamon & ground cloves)

*mix all spices together with a fork until well-blended

Applesauce Pancakes

(makes about ten medium-sized or 15 small-sized pancakes)
1 CUP flour
2 TBSP sugar
1/2 TSP salt
2 TSP baking powder
1 egg
1 CUP applesauce
1/4 – 1/2 CUP milk (to thin batter)
2 TBSP oil
* mix dry and wet ingredients separately.
* stir the wet ingredients into dry, mix until well incorporated.
Leave a Reply

