Knit Me Something Warm to Wear

I thought I would change up my MO a bit. Previously I have posted about cooking and baking, but today I want to talk about another hobby I’ve been working on. I actually learned to knit a few years ago (before moving to Korea). My aunt’s mother is an amazing crafter of a multitude of genres and she introduced me to knitting. To start, she gave me HUGE knitting needles, which I have somewhere in my closet back home.

When I moved out here in 2009 the winter months were a big downer. Having to be at work and stay in the office throughout the day was quite depressing. I missed the sun, and I was not the happiest of foreigners, let me tell you. Jason suggested I find some hobbies. I took up painting/drawing and I also took up knitting. I should say that I invested a little more time into hobbies I already had, but which I had not engaged in for quite some time.

The art turned out ok, for the most part. I dabbled in abstract, but not quite as successfully at realist. I actually haven’t painted or drawn anything in quite a while–several months in fact. I’ve been baking and cooking more regularly, so that takes up more of my time. Take a look at some of my art projects:

When Jason and I first moved into our apartment in September of ’09, we soon discovered a really awesome alley on which vendors sell a wide selection of fresh, seasonal fruit or veggie. It’s a veritable farmers market that is open year round (although in the extreme cold or heat there are fewer people out). Along this road we also can find plants, beans & legumes, blankets, fresh fish, as well as a plethora of Korean side and main dishes. The smells, as we meander down this road that runs about four blocks, are distinct. The atmosphere, exciting.

Upon discovering this road, we also discovered this shop:

It was actually closed today, either because of the fact it was MAYBE 5 degrees (F) out, or it was Sunday. The woman who owns it usually has a ton of yard on display. When I finally decided I was going to take up knitting, we came here. I picked out a large, 10,000 won, hank of purple yarn and Jason was able to communicate enough with her to let her know we wanted to purchase that and a set of needles (quite difficult, actually). It took me about 6 months to knit my purple scarf. Mainly because after a while I would get bored and put it away. I did finish it though, and have worn the extra long scarf nearly every day this winter. A few months before the Thanksgiving, Chanukah, Christmas season, I decided I would make one for Jason. He picked out a nice red hank of yarn (although the cost had gone up a thousand won) from the same lady.

 It’s coming along nicely. I plan on finishing it by his birthday in February. Wish me luck!

2 responses to “Knit Me Something Warm to Wear

  1. Pingback: Venting | Chubby Wedding·

  2. Pingback: Venting « Living, In Action·

Leave a Reply

