A Lil’ Puddin

Jason, for reasons I am still not completely sure of, had a can of coconut milk at work, which he brought home about two or three weeks ago. Ever since he did, I have been aching to use it in a recipe. Most of the recipes I found that call for coconut milk are curries, you know, really savory and delicious Thai and India food. But, I wanted to keep it sweet to really keep the coconut flavor.

I finally found this recipe and I was in business. Now, I did take pictures, but they didn’t come out nearly as well as I would have liked, so I am not including any this time. But, it came out REALLY good. The recipe actually calls for equal parts coconut milk and regular milk, but I didn’t have enough regular milk at the time, so I used the rest of the coconut milk. We also didn’t have lemons or limes, so I omitted that ingredient. It still tasted great (and still does today after chilling in the fridge).

Just a side note, for those of you who are vegan: You can substitute pretty much any non-dairy (ie rice, soy, coconut) milk for cow’s milk, especially in sweet foods like breads or puddings. I also find that applesauce or mashed bananas work really nicely in place of eggs and sometimes, butter in things like muffins, cookies, or breads. Just be aware that the results are a little less fluffy and a little more…sticky/gummy, but a lot more healthful!

Happy baking!

Leave a Reply

