Left Behind

When I moved out to Seoul in the summer of 2009, I knew what I was leaving behind. I was leaving my family and friends who happen to be the most valuable and important people in my life. I was leaving my car (don’t judge me, it’s a Ford) and the roads of my high desert home for the public transportation dominated streets and rails of the “land of morning calm” (sounds kinda like a coffee ad). I was also leaving behind my two cats, Millie and Lillith, and my two dogs, Copper and Nikki.

You all already know (or if not, you will know by the time you finish this sentence) that Jason and I just sent our two Siamese boys back home. They just turned a year old on the 9th, and have been gone for almost a month. 3.5 months without them will be…quiet, to say the least.

This morning, I got an email from my mom (I got three actually, but one of them inspired this post) about my oldest cat, Millie.

Millie is my baby. I’ve had her since she was a kitten. She’s just over 10 years old.

For a few weeks, in 2000, I worked at a local vet. My job was to clean cages and feed animals. Far from glamorous. The vet was holding two kittens, both had been abandoned by their owners. Because of their age, the two were put into the same cage. One was all white (but for a few black hairs on the forehead) and the other was an orange tiger. Obviously, the white one was Millie. The orange one, the most friendly lil’ guy, was Stanley. I adopted them both.

To save time, I won’t go too much into the details. Stanley had been severely injured by his previous owner’s young child, so he only had the use of his two front legs. One of his hind legs had been amputated, and the other (because of nerve damage) was useless. Regardless of this, he had an amazing spirit and LOVED to be held. Unfortunately, several months after getting them home, Stanley took a turn for the worse, and I had to say goodbye to him.

After that, Millie became exceedingly attached to me. I am pretty attached to her too!

And she is waiting patiently, apparently in my bedroom window, for my return.

Millie listens to 93.3

Snuggled

Leave a Reply

