A Few Resolutions

Hooray! The new year is here. Last night Jason and I celebrated with home-made potato soup, two of the LOTR movies, and the game Life.

We almost missed midnight, as we were both exhausted. Jason spent the day working on his man cave, while I watched reruns on On Demand and made the soup:

4-6 pounds of peeled and roughly chopped russet (or your choice) potatoes
1 medium (on the smaller side of medium if you like) yellow onion, chopped into small pieces
1 ham bone with some ham still on it
1/2 – 1 cup of diced ham (or rough chopped if you prefer)
6 cups water (low sodium chicken broth would be really good too)
1.5 cups half and half (1 cup cream or 1.5 cups whole milk)
Salt and pepper to taste
Shredded cheese, optional

Combine all the ingredients in your crock pot for 4 hours on low heat then 1-2 on high, or 6-8 hours on low. Occasionally mash potatoes after hour 4. Once the potatoes are thoroughly mashed and the ham is well incorporated, take out the bones (be mindful that some bits may have fallen off and depending on your bone there may be some bits of cartilage), and add your half&half.
*I added a bit of salt and a bit more pepper before adding the cream. You can add it before or after, but the ham is pretty salty, so not much salt is needed.
**I topped our bowls with about two tbsp of shredded cheese.
YUM

And on to the basis for my title: Resolutions.
I would imagine that a lot of people are posting about this today…great! I’m all for self-improvement. Here’s what I am planning.
1. I mentioned that I wanted to get back into writing, and I had started last year with a goal to blog once a week. So, I am re-committing to that goal.
2. I have a wedding coming up! I have been doing Weight Watchers with Jason since September, and I have kinda fallen off the tracking wagon. My goal for this is to be more honest and vigilant with my tracking and record keeping.
3. Exercise. This related to number 2, but I really do want to be more regular with my activity. With the help of my brother (my pseudo trainer) and my friends (with whom I am starting to train for a half marathon) I think this one is totally doable.
4. MARATHON. I have run a few marathons (well, half marathons) in the past. Some were official (Steamworks and Duke City) and others not (super long runs!).
5. Be more flexible. This means incorporating more resolutions as they present themselves.

**QUESTION: What is/are your resolution(s) for 2012?**

One response to “A Few Resolutions

  1. This soup sounds very good and easy to make. I need to get some broth, but have a ham bone that I’ve been wanting to put to good use! Thanks! I think you have great resolutions and look forward to reading you again, welcome back!

Leave a Reply

