Spinnin’ Me Right ‘Round

Last week I was diagnosed with a condition that causes vertigo. Some membrane in my inner ear “dislodged” and thus caused me to experience a very uncomfortable sensation.

You know those people we all laugh at on America’s Funniest Home Videos? The ones who put their head to the base of the baseball bat, spin around, and then try to walk to some distant location across a field in attempts to win some relay? We laugh because that dizzy, drunken walk they take was completely self-inflicted. We’ve probably all done that, or something similar to that, to make ourselves feel dizzy. It’s fun right?

Let me tell ya, when it’s not self-inflicted, it’s downright scary.

Last Wednesday I was laying in bed, trying to fall asleep, when all of a sudden it hit me, and it hit hard. In the dark, my room is spinning. And spinning. And spinning. I couldn’t move my head because I couldn’t find a position that would relieve me of this sensation. I eventually fell into a fitful sleep, only to wake up a few hours later, stumble (like those relay racers) to my bathroom in the anticipation of vomiting.

There was no vomit, but there was coughing and intense light-headedness. I crawled back to bed, where Jason was being worried. We spent the next hour trying to self-diagnose.

We ended up changing sides of the bed, so I could lay on my left side (Jason read that laying this way helps get blood to the heart more efficiently) and make the big stock pot in case I did vomit.

The following morning, we went to the doctor, got my diagnosis (or a probable diagnosis really, since the sensation had generally subsided by the time my doc did the diagnostic examination), anti-nausea meds, and a list of “exercises” to help alleviate the vertigo.

Since Wednesday night, I haven’t felt the dizzy, room-spinning feeling as intensely. I  am still a little light-headed every now and then. I try to drink more water to stay hydrated, since that seems to be something else that may cause vertigo.

**Question: What is the oddest ailment you’ve experienced?**

One response to “Spinnin’ Me Right ‘Round

  1. Wow, I’ve read a lot of horror stories of vertigo, I’m really sorry to hear you are going thru this. I hope it will go away.. As far as odd ailments, I’m not sure that I’ve had ones along those lines, just painful and annoying.

Leave a Reply

