The Monday Munchies

In light of the fact that my Weight Watchers weigh-in day is Wednesday, and I don’t want to focus too much on food right after I have weighed in, I’ve decided to turn my WIAW into a MM (see above).

So here it is:

Breakfast was a delicious pairing of Folgers Classic Roast with a dash of sugar-free vanilla syrup and milk and a homemade-by-me scone featuring chia. Now, I’ve been making these scones since I was in Korea with a slight modification. Instead of buttermilk, which was hard to come by in Seoul, I combined equal parts milk and yogurt. Depending on what your plan is, you can use plain or flavored yogurt. Of course for those of you who are looking for a healthy alternative, you can use skim milk and fat-free yogurt, which I’ve done on MANY occasions with the same yummy result. You can also mix and knead in fresh fruit, chocolate, or as I did this time, chia, for an added tasty bonus.

Coffee & Scone (8 pps)

Lunch was a little less homemade. Here I have a Smart Dog on a slice of whole wheat bread which was spread with Laughing Cow Swiss and sprinkled with blackening spices. WW Dijon pretzels and a Fig Newton bar finish out the plate. On the side, I have a hearty black bean soup from Amy’s.

Smart Dog & Amy's (13 pps)

And finally, dinner. Jason was craving Chinese, so we hit up a local place called Heaven Dragon. I ordered the chicken teriyaki and Jason got the Hunan style chicken. It would have been great if they had included our hot & sour soup instead of the lo mein we ended up with. Them’s the breaks, kids. All in all the food wasn’t too bad, and they actually deliver–a novelty for anything other than pizza in Albuquerque.

Chicken Teriyaki (10 pps)

And for desert, what Chinese dinner would be complete without a fortune cookie? I think this cookie might be referring to Duke City, how about you?

Fortune Cookie (1 pps)

**Question: What did you munch on today?**

6 responses to “The Monday Munchies

  1. I had a cup of coffee, a clementine and a peach yogurt for
    breackfast. Lunch was roast chicken, a few saltines, more yogurt
    and another clementine. Supper was gouda with italian
    herbs and crackers. And water, lots and lots of water.

  2. Pingback: Ching He Huang/Chinese Food In Minutes/HOT AND SOUR SOUP | Chinese Recipes·

  3. looks delicious ! i loooove Amy’s black bean soup and I haven’t had it for a year- I need to revisit that. Diets are so hard, I am on the Dukan diet so I can’t eat any of the delicious stuff you posted for a while. this morning i am indulging with a cup of coffee with less milk and sugar than normal and I will have some low fat yogurt with 2 scoops of oatbran, a splash of cinnamon and vanilla

Leave a Reply

