The Good Kind of Thinspiration: Newton’s First Law of Weight Loss

And by “Good Kind” I mean that I’m not referring to the skeletal waifs that really, really weight-obsessed individuals turn to for inspiration while they push through one more day of not eating. I’ve checked out these images on various websites, and because I feel that I would rather not even link to descriptors of such sites, shielding you, my readers, I will refrain. Needless to say, people find inspiration in just about anything.

No, by “Good Kind” I mean me. Let me explain so I don’t sound completely self-absorbed.

Today was weigh-in day at Weight Watchers. All week, I’ve been busting my a$$ to track my points, drink my water, and take my vitamins. I did a nearly hour-long walk with Jamie and Victoria on Saturday, yard work with Jason on Monday, and yoga with Bob on Tuesday.

After last week’s gain, I would be damned if I was going to gain AGAIN. In fact, I gained weight each week since November 30th.

But, today I stepped onto the scale with confidence, and I wasn’t disappointed.

Now, before I reveal my number for this week, I need to express how stupid I feel. I mean, really. Duh. Of course WW works IF you track, drink water, and exercise. I know that pretty much since we moved into the new house, I’ve been a HUGE slacker. How silly do I feel after doing what I SHOULD have been doing and seeing results? Pretty dang silly.

In essence, I defer to Newton’s First Law of Motion whereby if you don’t make a change, no change will happen. In doing nothing (not sticking to my program) nothing was happening (I wasn’t losing weight; I was in fact gaining the weight I had already lost when I was doing something, which is reminiscent of Newton’s 3rd law about equal and opposite reactions).

So, our take away physics lesson for the day is: Do not stand still, MOVE. By MOVING, you may come away with a weekly weight loss number of 4.2 pounds. By moving, you might just see results.

**Question: What moves, motivates, or inspires you?**

One response to “The Good Kind of Thinspiration: Newton’s First Law of Weight Loss

  1. Pingback: Weight Loss Meditation | Free Guided Meditation·

Leave a Reply

