Monday Munchies (II)

I apologize. I apologize right now because one of the items I’m going to share with you was so amazing, and you weren’t here to enjoy it. Don’t feel too bad. I’ll include a recipe.

Breakfast was my go-to oatmeal with crunchy PB, chia seeds, and splenda to sweeten. No breakfast is complete without coffee (with FF half-&-half and more splenda). Cuties were on sale this week, and thanks to my friend Debra, I actually knew about it! Can we say “hooray” for baby oranges sans the seeds? HOORAY!

Today’s lunch was sort of put together in a half-assed attempt at watching my points and filling my belly. No pictures present because it was pretty lame and boring. I had two Smart Dog links and a WW string cheese wrapped in a whole wheat tortilla. On the side I had left over mashed potatoes. Dessert was WW’s take on a Snicker’s Ice Cream Bar.

Now, for the main event: Dinner

Ever since my aunt sent my first care package to me in Seoul, which included within it a large bag of red chili powder, Jason and I have been making this recipe for Carne Adovada. Living in New Mexico has its perks, and amazing (and HOT) chili is one of them.

Ingredients >> 1-3 lbs beef (we used a flank steak), cubed,  2-3 cloves fresh garlic, minced, 3 tbsp cooking oil (we used olive, but canola or vegetable will work as well), 3 tbsp all-purpose flour, 4 tbsp red chili powder, 1 tsp salt, 2-3 cups water <<

Process >> heat meat in a frying pan, just long enough to brown. Put the meat into the crock pot. Mix together the flour, chili powder, and salt in a bowl and set it aside. In a frying pan, heat oil. Add in minced garlic. Mix the garlic until it’s golden (not too dark or it will be very bitter). Add 1-2 tbsp of the dry mixture to the garlic oil and mix. You will need to work fast. As you mix the chili into a paste, add in 1/2 cup water. Alternate between the chili mixture and the water until all the chili is incorporated. **For thicker chili sauce, use 2-2 1/2 cups of water, for thinner chili sauce, use 3 (or more) cups.** Pour the well-mixed chili sauce into the crock pot over the meat. Mix to coat the meat. Set on low for 4+ hours.

When our Carne Adovada was ready, I served myself a bowl. You know you want some. With some low-fat cheese and a whole wheat tortilla… Yum-O.

I paired dinner with a nice California red; a delicious blend of Zinfandel, Merlot, and Cabernet Sauvignon, which was refreshing and NOT dry at all, but sweet.

**Question: Are you a wine person or a beer person?**

4 responses to “Monday Munchies (II)

Leave a Reply

