Baby Book Wish List

So, I’ve not truly invested in many baby books. We have the obligatory “What to Expect When You’re Expecting” and a follow-up that Jason bought me on Mother’s Day called: Eating Well When You’re Expecting. I haven’t really read too much of the latter, because while I’m sure it’s chock-full of useful dietary insight, it’s not exactly geared toward me. By this I mean me, a prior-to-pregnancy plus-sized mother-to-be.

I find most resources for plus-sized pregnant ladies to be severely lacking. Most sources say to lose weight before conceiving. That’s nice. I wasn’t able to do that. Here I am, pregnant anyway, and the sources give me nothing. No words of advice other than “you’re high risk,” “beware of gestational diabetes,” and “you should absolutely only gain no more than 20 pounds…or else.” Not exactly supportive.

When Borders went out of business, Jason and I cleaned up on pregnancy lit… but we didn’t want to go too overboard. We picked up a ton of children’s books we’d never heard of, this WTE Pregnancy Journal (I use it to hold our sonogram pictures) and a book for Jason so he can read up on how to be more supportive and understanding of my newly acquired pregnancy brain. Jason also bought me (for Mother’s Day) this book by Jenny McCarthy. It’s pretty blunt, and very funny.

And of course, what pregnant lady would be complete without at least a dozen pregnancy magazines? Our OB sent us home after our first visit with a nice stack. I got more for Mother’s Day, and I even bought a subscription to one that boasts pregnancy and parenting (I’ve not actually received this mag in the mail yet, but they cashed my check, so any day now…).

But, the real purpose of this post is to generally talk about the lack of literature out there for plus-sized mommies-to-be. I found one book at amazon that speaks specifically to that end… ONE. The book does contain some additional websites, such as this one, that I had already checked out. Very helpful!

And it’s number one on my baby book wish list.

Number two is one that I heard about in our childbirth class and had been talked about by this blogger.

And, while I already found a lot of information (discussed here) about pets and new baby, I do want to find more information on that as well. Needless to say, I have things to read, and very little time to do it.

2 responses to “Baby Book Wish List

  1. Thank you for all the “presearch” you’ve basically done on my behalf. (I, of course, still obnoxiously google stuff. I don’t have a boyfriend on the side; I have google.) I wish I could reblog this.

Leave a Reply

