Preggo Girl’s WIAW #3

Peas and Crayons

It’s gonna be a nice long work day today, so my WIAW this week has been relegated to just the snakage. Well, breakfast and snackage.

Breakfast

Yogurt, Granola, Chia Seeds, and Bananas

Last week, after a very long hiatus we finally made it back out to Costco. In Korea, we had to go about once a month. This was mostly to do with the fact that we had a tiny refrigerator. But, probably more the reason, we had to carry that stuff home. Literally. On the bus. For about an hour. We would be pretty loaded down–each of us sporting a backpack and 1-2 Baggus. We do not miss that. Especially the summer trips in the middle of humidity hell. Imagine walking home with roughly 45 pounds strapped to you, through air that felt more like a warm swimming pool. Good times.

I digress. While we were at Costco this past week, we managed to snag a WHOLE CASE of this:

Snack #1

Dried, Salted Seaweed

What you may be thinking: Gross! Seaweed!

But you are wrong. This stuff is fan-freakin-tastic! Now, I don’t like sushi or “California” rolls. If you give me some kimpap, I will give it back to you. I don’t like my seaweed cooked or warmed. I like it dry, like the amazing and healthy snacks from the sea they’ve been packaged as. I discovered that I did in fact like seaweed while living in Korea. They give you the squares as a sort of appetizer in various restaurants. LOVE.

Lunch was BBQed turkey hot dogs with yellow mustard: boring, but delicious.

After proofing two readers for work, I made myself this mondo plate of yum:

Snack #2

Strawberries, Red Grapes, and Raw Almonds

On the dinner menu: More BBQ. Hamburgers this time. The joys of owning a grill are endless really.

**Question: What are you thoughts on frozen grapes? I’m thinking of freezing the rest of ours for use in future smoothies.**

4 responses to “Preggo Girl’s WIAW #3

  1. I’ve only come across frozen grapes by accident. (They got shoved to the back of a too-cold refrigerator.) I ate them plain and they tasted delicious! Extra crispy and fresh. I wouldn’t freeze them too hard though, just a little…almost a slushie texture. But somebody who has actually made smoothie’s with them could give you a better answer.

    • I imagine they would either turn out nice and crispy like frozen blueberries, or rather hard like an ice cube. Thanks for the tip!

  2. Frozen grapes are amazing – my friend from England got me onto them. We just buy a bag and shove it in the freezer. They are perfect in summer, even our dog loves them. I’ve never put grapes in a smoothie but I imagine they blend well, they end up like a frozen blueberry, with a harder center.

Leave a Reply

