Week 28…AKA The Third Trimester

Finally. We have arrived at the much-anticipated third trimester. While my body has been screaming third for the last few weeks, with the additions of pelvic widening and what I am assuming is sciatica, I had been enjoying my second trimester. Although, admittedly, I was ready for a change. From what I hear, the third trimester is no walk in the park. Supposedly many of my first trimester symptoms, like nausea and vomiting, will be making a comeback. Hooray.

This week alone has been quite eventful and I dare say…freaky.

Anywho…

We’ve set a date for our baby shower, which is being hosted by my lovely friend, Deb. She’s a mother of two awesome (and insightful) little boys and has been SUCH a help with all things new-baby related. She helped me pick out just about everything on our Babies R Us gift registry, right down to recommending a tried and true brand of diaper rash ointment.

Two Ups, Two Downs

The Ups

1. I took the GD test two weeks ago and got the results last Thursday…PASSED, with flying colors. This is a huge relief since, as most of you will remember, I was pretty concerned about it. Also during this appointment we got the regular evals: urine (fine), weight (annoying, but doc said I’m trending so nothing to worry about…I’ll just have more to lose postpartum), fundal height (28 cm), and fetal heart rate (155bps, good and strong).

2. We had another sonogram last Friday, during which we got to see THe baby again. He was all wiggles and a bit evasive. But, he’s growing well and that’s what’s important. According to the sonographer, THe baby is (or was, a week ago) 2.9 pounds and has a heart rate of 145 (lower than the day before, but I figure it’s more accurate since the OB was using a portable Doppler rather than a finely-tuned ultrasound wand) bps…which SHOULD be slowing as we get closer to the EDD.

The Downs

1. Continued pelvic and lower back pain make moving about pretty difficult. And it’s pretty sucky feeling a hundred at 31.

2. This happened. At the urging of my mom, I called the doctor yesterday and got a return phone call this morning. Again… normal. I just need to be on the look out for severe abdominal pain and cramping, in which case I am to call back to see the doc ASAP. I guess the outcome is an Up, but the event was DEFINITELY a Down.

~~~

Other random events of the past two weeks included Jason starting jury duty and being put on a trial (we’re hoping they finish deliberations today!). As a result of last week’s car mishap, my dad was staying here this week to help drive Jason to jury duty downtown and stay with me during the day. Since we got the car back on Wednesday evening, my dad is going back home tonight. It will be lonely, but hopefully Jason won’t be put on another trial during his last week of jury duty.

Now that I’m 28 weeks, it’s recommended that I track fetal movements daily. A good test to go by is the ten-in-twelve test. This means that baby should be moving (ie kicking) ten times in a twelve-hour period. There are loads of resources to help us mommies track the kicks we feel. There are downloadable charts and tons of apps. I shelled out the .99 for this one, and have started tracking.

I finally (like, this morning) got around to making these:

They are Banana Bran muffins. I got the recipe off our box of Kroger Bran Flakes. They are pretty good for a bran muffin. Both my dad and I have had our share, and we’re saving the rest for Jason  and for consumption at a later time… like desert or something.

4 responses to “Week 28…AKA The Third Trimester

  1. Third trimester, way to go. During our third trimester, we filmed ourselves “interview style” sharing our fears, thoughts and excitements about how we felt leading up to this point. Also posing a few questions to the “future us” about how things went, the type of man our schnitzel grew up to become and the kind of parents we were. The plan then, is to wait 20 years and interview ourselves again, answering those questions and giving advice to our “younger selves”. Then, I’ll edit it all together and share it with our little miracle on his 21st birthday. Might give you some inspiration for what you can do for your little one for the future to look back upon. Good luck with the next 12 weeks 🙂

  2. You should buy a back massager pillow. They sell them at Rite Aid and it was very helpful for back pain. I am glad you have your car back now.

Leave a Reply

