And the Doctor Said…

We had our first bi-monthly (of two) OB visits this morning.

Things that have me excited:

1. We’re at 33 weeks, which means only 7 more until Tucker arrives.

2. I only gained two pounds this visit, one pound less than expected at the two-week point in what has been averaging to be 6 pounds a month for the last 4 or so months.

3. Tucker’s heartbeat is still strong.

4. The doctor seems to think he’s head-down at this point… a very good sign (not sure if he’s sunny-side up or face-down though).

Things that have me flummoxed:

1. The tips of my thumb and forefinger on my right hand have been completely numb for about two weeks. Cause: carpal tunnel.

2. Heartburn only when I roll over from my left side to my right side.

3. Tucker’s knee or foot likes to lodge itself beneath my ribs. Ouch. This started last night.

4. Wondering if my belly button will ever become an outie. It’s quite shallow these days.

5. Wondering how long linea nigra takes to go away after delivery.

Things I’m not really looking forward to:

1. Whooping cough vaccine. I saw a news story about a month and a half ago about the epidemic that seems to be afflicting more of those in the Northeast. I had meant to ask the doc about it at our last visit but spaced it, so I brought it up today and he said “yes, we recommend it for you both.” We had to get to CVS anyway to pick up some RXs and asked if they administered it. They do. But they said if we’d gotten the TDaP booster in the last 10 years, we didn’t need it. So now both Jason and I have to run down to UNMH to figure out if we’d gotten it. Some quick research says that this particular booster (which includes vaccines for Tetanus, Diphtheria, and Pertussis or Whooping Cough) wasn’t available for adults before 2005–it would seem that NO Pertussis vaccines were available for adults or adolescents before 2005 anyway. I’m leaning toward my not having it at all, and possibly Jason having it when he was applying for the Peace Corps in 2005.

2. Group B Strep test. I had read up on this a little bit before today, but both the MA and the doc let us know that this will be happening at the visit. Yucky.

3. Weekly doctor visits beginning September 13-14…these are invasive and uncomfortable. But this one also is exciting because my progress will be closely monitored up until delivery.

Leave a Reply

