Baby-Moon Rising

Any plans we might have made regarding taking a baby-moon went out the window when I hit 30 weeks. My friends, Katy and Chris, went on theirs to Durango a few weeks ago. I was jealous.

I can honestly say that the last several weeks, nay, months, have been almost a dream. I’ve had mucho swelling, some lower back pain, and strange finger numbness, but all in all, nothing that was so unbearable that I was ready to induce labor. So a baby-moon would have been OK.

We had talked about going back to this place, where we’d gone last fall (BEST eggs Benedict ever). An artist friend of ours was participating in an art show last year and is doing it again this year. But it’s three hours away and everything I’m reading these days says that I should make sure that should I go into labor on the load, my insurance will cover it…meaning I need to know where the nearest hospital is in this small town, otherwise it’s a three-hour trek home!

Now, with 6 weeks and 5 days to go, I haven’t had any signs of premature labor. No Braxton Hicks contractions, no spotting, nothing… just a very kicky baby looking for more room in his….room.

I so want to go back to Abiquiu though…

Leave a Reply

