In The Mood

My body has decided, or DID decide, that last night would be a great time to practice having contractions. According to sites like the bump and baby center, I’ve been having practice contractions since about 6 weeks. They go unnoticed for much of pregnancy. In the last few weeks, I had been having what I assumed were Braxton Hicks contractions; I felt a definite stretch along the top of my uterus. The only thing with these, was I couldn’t be 100% that they were even real. They occurred at night, as I was rolling over from one side to the other. I wasn’t sure if I had dreamed them or if I actually felt it. This mainly being due to my ability to fall back to sleep almost instantly upon repositioning. My brain never had the time to really think about it for too long.

When I told my doctor about them two weeks ago, he was amused and said they could be Braxton Hicks, because they were in the right place. But the fact that I wasn’t sure that I actually had had them, made him a little skeptical. After the LOVELY internal exam two weeks ago and my lack of any pre-laboring, we decided an internal wasn’t necessary this past Friday when we saw the doc again.

Friday’s appointment did bring a bit of a pucker moment for Jason when the doctor told us that being as how we’re now beyond 36 weeks, if I go into labor, they won’t stop it. That’s right, from here on out, the Tucker time bomb is just waiting to go off.

This brings me to last night. I spent most of the day doing nothing in particular. I felt good yesterday morning for a change, and went for a 20-minute walk around the neighborhood. Being that I work from home, I took the rest of my morning to catch up on some stuff for work. I did some dishes, and got the laundry together so I could start on that today. But for the most part, I watched a few shows on TV which had been preceded by a nap before dinner. Around midnight-thirty, I had Jason draw a bath and soaked for a while before bed.

We’re hot people. We’ve had the swamp-coolers running since about May, and only recently (like in the last few days) started to turn it off for most, if not all of the day. Needless to say, after my bath I was a bit overheated. I eventually cooled down and we fell asleep soon after.

Fast-forward a few hours. I go to turn over and holy crap. I mean; HOLY CRAP. Now, I know that this was nothing like what I’ll be experiencing when I am actually IN labor, but HOLY CRAP. I was practically paralyzed. I couldn’t move because the pain was so intense. And it wasn’t THAT intense. It’s just not what you anticipate feeling at 2-3 in the morning. Yup, right across the top of my uterus, a pain I’d never ever felt. I’m sitting there, trying to hold my self up on one elbow, breathing deeply through the pain. My other arm flails about, trying to wake up Jason. I don’t know what is going on, but if I’m going into labor, I thought to my self, his butt needs to be awake.

He wakes with a start. And I tell him, quite clearly “I’m having a THING! It hurts!” and then after the pain dulled a little a few moments later “I don’t know if I need to go to the bathroom or throw up.” At which point, I haul myself to the bathroom to 1. make sure my water hadn’t broken, and 2. generally change positions. By the time I get back to bed (no more than 5 minutes later), Jason is back asleep and snoring.

The rest of the night was passed without incident, but I couldn’t help but think back to parts of a conversation Jason and I had had earlier in the day. Pretty much both of us commenting of the doctor’s statement about not stopping labor now, and how we hope like mad we make it to payday (next Thursday) so we can finish preparing for not only having a baby in the house, but having a baby in the hospital.

On that note, I leave you with a montage of our crib-building adventure from late last week.

2 responses to “In The Mood

Leave a Reply

