My Birth Story

As related to me by my mother over the phone yesterday.

According to my mother, and why would she fib? Both my brother and I were born almost exactly two weeks early. It’s her premonition that it therefore means that Tucker will likely be born two weeks early. That’s THIS Friday people! I told her that’s not necessarily the case…this new mom was a week late even though HER mother was sure she’d have the baby three days early like she did.

So, here’s the short version:

Wednesday, December 17, 1980: The scheduled doctor’s appoint went fine. After an internal exam, my mom was told that she could have me at anytime: like sometime the following week. My mom mentioned that she’d been experiencing some light cramping, but was reassured that that was normal and just “false labor.” My mom went on her way, thinking I’d be arriving sometime closer to Christmas.

Thursday, December 18, 1980: Some time around 6 in the morning, my mother awoke with severe cramping. After a visit to the bathroom, she was actually unsure whether her water had broken–it never seemed to break after this bathroom break. About two hours later, she and my dad finally went to the hospital: Washoe Medical Center in Reno. Now, yesterday she said that my dad wasn’t with her the entire time; I’m not sure where he’d gone to, but he did make it back to see her through my birth. When they arrived at the hospital, my mom was dilated to 4cm. This was around 8/8:30 in the morning. By 9:45 or so she was at 10cm and ready to push. I was born at 10:11am that Thursday; exactly one week before Christmas.

Circa December/January 1980/81

Before we got off the phone, my mother’s wish for me was that regardless of when (either this Friday or two + weeks from Friday) Tucker is born, that I am graced with the super short labor and delivery she had with me and apparently my brother. “Because I’m not going to lie; it REALLY hurts” she said. I’m all for quick and easy.

2 responses to “My Birth Story

Leave a Reply

