Doctor Who?

I had never even heard of Dr. Who (I know, GASP!) until I met my husband.

When we started dating in 2005, he introduced me to a few OLD episodes he’d (or rather I think it had been one of his past roommates) recorded onto VHS from PBS. So by the time I moved to Korea to be with him, I had actually HEARD of Dr. Who. But I had yet to see a new episode.

But then I did. It started with Christopher Eccleston. I was intrigued. But then, David Tennant happened, and I knew I was truly a fan. We downloaded ALL episodes through season 6 of the NEW doctor (that’s Eccleston through Smith) on iTunes. With season 7, we were able to watch them on TV like regular people. Well, almost regular people; we don’t actually get BBC America, so we watch them on OnDemand via our cable company.

The-Eleven-Doctors-doctor-who-18277364-1280-800.jpg

Finding Dr. Who has to be one of the best things to happen to my televiewing. Notably, Catherine Tate’s Donna Noble, will remain my all time favorite companion. If you’ve not heard of her or aren’t familiar with her show (The Catherine Tate Show) you MUST watch her on YouTube. You owe it to yourself.

7 responses to “Doctor Who?

  1. Oh, I am so right there with you! I came to DW even later than you did, I started the series in March last year and finished by August. I love it so much! It’s as though someone asked me, “Sara? What would you love in a TV show? Tell us everything and we’ll make it just for you.” lol Definitely a Ten/Donna fan as well, although I enjoyed all of the Companions. Good luck in A-Z! :o)

    ~Sara~

  2. I must confess, I’ve been a Doctor Who fan since I was a wee laddie. In fact, when I was in school, I was a member of the Doctor Who International Fan Club both in the UK and Australia. I contributed drawings to their newsletter, I built my own play Tardis in the backyard, even knitted my own Tom Baker scarf (except it was purple, the only wool my Nanna had). I constructed paper Daleks and even created two board games based on different episodes. As an adult, my wife and I visited the Doctor Who museum in Cardiff and I purchased a remote controlled Dalek. The Doctor began my obsession and interest in time travel and I even have a Tardis USB hub. Yes, part of me is a nerd. Let’s pretend this conversation never happened…

  3. Pingback: Where’s Australia’s Doctor Who? | mjhearle·

  4. Pingback: Review: Doctor Who: The Forgotten - The First 750 Words·

Leave a Reply

